Show, not Tell

There are 3 rules for writing the novel. Unfortunately, no one knows what they are.

Sage Advice from Last Week

leave a comment »

I asked a question to the ladies at Edittorrent awhile ago and Alicia Rasley answered it last week. My question was a simple one and something all of us writers have:

 

Emotional Baggage

Emotional Baggage

 

How much back story should there be?

Alicia does a great job addressing the topic, including how much to reveal, what is back story (in comparison to extraneous information), and when to introduce it.

I’ve taken up a position of “less is more,” but my wonderful critters keep mentioning all the things that I’m lacking that I think has a lot to do with this issue. If you tell too much, your story isn’t set in the present anymore! If you don’t tell enough, your characters lack some emotion and motivation.

Just like all things in life, there’s a happy medium! And I haven’t found it yet–but someday.

Written by Jessica Lei

November 15, 2010 at 6:00 am

Posted in Advice, Writing

Leave a comment