Show, not Tell

There are 3 rules for writing the novel. Unfortunately, no one knows what they are.

Lesson 13

leave a comment »

The other brain of this operation, though definitely the less dominant, gets a turn. Let’s hope this makes more sense than the way my body acting.

You'll be jealous of my awesome

This is what your imagination should look like. If not, please give up and try again. Please make sure to dial a 1 or 0 before trying--your creativity is long distance.

Sadly, I have been going through writers block these past weeks–a travesty, I know–and I am just now getting back into the groove. The groove is important. Without the groove, you’re stuck with shoving semi-poetic words onto paper that you’ll end up hating anyway. Yes, it’s better than just lazing about and waiting for inspiration. Most of the time an inspiration that won’t even lead you in the direction you’re hoping for. At least, that’s what happens to me. And did happen.

Luckily, pushing through ends up getting you  back into the groove. The groove may not be the usual samba or meringue, but a nice simple waltz that you can jazz up at a later time. This, I have learned. I can’t always be perfect, especially when my imagination isn’t seeping out ideas the way I’d like it to. But I can wring out the last drops I’ve got and go back and add more when my brain is feeling nice and juicy.

So, keep up the writing and don’t forget you can always spice up that soup after the first round.

Written by Devin Bond

September 29, 2010 at 5:30 am

Posted in Lessons

Leave a Reply

